11th Paul Walden Symposium Programme

September 19, 2019

8.30 – 9.00Registration
9.00 – 9.10Professor Edgars Sūna (Chairman of the Scientific Board, Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis)
Welcoming remarks
9.10 – 9.30Presentation of the Paul Walden medal to Professor Aigars Jirgensons (Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis) by Professor Māris Turks, Dean of the Faculty of Materials Science and Applied Chemistry (Riga Technical University)
9.30 – 10.20Professor Aigars Jirgensons (Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis)
“Carbocation chemistry: a rich source of new synthetic methods”
10.20 – 11.10Professor Benjamin List (Max-Planck-Institut fűr Kohlenforschung, Műlheim an den Ruhr, Germany)
Very strong and confined acids enable a general approach to asymmetric Lewis acid catalysis
11.10 – 11.40Coffee break
11.40 – 12.40Professor Jerome Waser (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Institut des sciences et ingénierie chimiques, Lausanne, Switzerland)
Hypervalent iodine reagents: a wonderful toolbox for organic synthesis
12.40 – 13.00Symposium group photo
13.00 – 14.30Lunch
14.30 – 15.30Professor Burkhard Kőnig (Universität Regensburg, Institut für Organische Chemie, Regensburg, Germany)
Photoredox catalysis: organic synthesis with visible light
15.30 – 16.00Coffee break
16.00 – 16.50Professor P. Andrew Evans (Queen’s University, Department of Chemistry, Kingston, Canada)
Stereoselective construction of challenging C-C bonds: total synthesis of complex bioactive agents
16.50 – 17.40Professor Daniel B. Werz (TU Braunschweig, Institut für Organische Chemie, Braunschweig, Germany)
Gain by strain: cyclopropanes as spring-loaded entities for chemical synthesis
17.50Guided tour of the Paul Walden and Wilhelm Ostwald monuments

September 20, 2019

9.00 – 9.50Professor Herbert Mayr (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Department Chemie, München, Germany)
Nucleophilicity and Electrophilicity Parameters for the Analysis of Cycloaddition Reactions
9.50 – 10.40Professor Joseph Moran (Institut de Science et d’Ingénierie Supramoléculaires, Strasbourg, France)
Good vibrations and the origin of life
10.40 – 11.10Coffee break
11.10 – 13.00Poster session
13.00 – 14.30Lunch
14.30 – 15.00PhD student Anna Lielpētere (Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis, Riga, Latvia)
Generation of carbenium ions by electrochemical leaving group activation
15.00 – 15.30PhD student Jurijs Ponomarjovs (Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis, Riga, Latvia)
New Noyori-Ikariya type asymmetric transfer hydrogenation catalysts
15.30 – 16.00Coffee break
16.00 – 16.50Professor Jeffrey W. Bode (Laboratorium für Organische Chemie, ETH Zűrich, Switzerland)
Platform technologies for organic synthesis
16.50 – 17.10Closing remarks